Exposed on My First Lie

This story of mine I hardly forget. It’s a funny and painful one.

I can’t remember what age I was precisely at that time, but it’s something I look back and laugh. I remember though I was in the Junior Secondary School(high school) at that time. I had to share it with you guys because daily post one-word prompt requests me to and secondly because I ran into the person I lied against after about 7 years or there about.

Telling lies is very difficult especially when you and your siblings attend the same school. It was my first time indulging in one and I got exposed. I had to do it to save my ass from receiving many strokes that day.

My mum had just bought a toy for my sibling and I loved it. I decided to take it with me to school to show it off to friends and also play with it in class. It wasn’t actually a toy for a male child but a doll for a female.doll.jpg

Unknowingly, it dropped from my bag. Some minutes later, someone saw it, picked it up and passed it to the person in front and that to another and that to another. Everyone made fun of it as it moved round the class without knowing the owner.

Later on while there was a teacher in class, someone brought it out again and it created a kind of distraction, as those sitting behind giggled. The teacher after observing his outfit several times, and found out there was nothing wrong with him, couldn’t hold himself any longer. At last he turned and inquired what was causing the giggling. With everyone keeping mute he went downstairs, brought some sticks which he called cane and asked again.

Those who were afraid of being flogged had to open up. And that was how the question of who owns the doll popped out. At first I didn’t panic because no one knew the owner. It became a serious issue that involved other teachers and I knew I was in for a big mess.

I was a brilliant student back then in high school. I was always neat, punctual, studios, humble and quiet and this made all the teachers love me. As a result of these qualities, no one suspected me. While the interrogations were ongoing, the position where the doll was found was revealed. Unfortunately, it just happened to be by my desk.

I thought of what to say as all eyes gazed at my direction. The only thing that occurred to me was to point at someone else. The poor boy I pointed at said it wasn’t his but no one believed him because he already had for himself bad records and complains against his name. It was my first lie to escape being flogged and I was grateful I had managed to scale through. So I thought, but little did I know that it wasn’t over yet.

The boy I accuse was taken down stairs to the open field to be flogged. As he was being flogged, he kept insisting he wasn’t the owner of the doll. After being lashed 5 strokes of the cane, he suggested that the teachers could go and ask his siblings. And out of pity, one teacher paid attention and also requested that my siblings be asked too.

My sister recognized her doll and the poor boy got acquitted while I got exposed. On realizing the truth, many of the teachers got disappointed and this made my punishment severe. The teachers who took me as their favourite all wanted to lash me. After a series of repeated lashing on my back and buttocks, I was kept under the sun for hours kneeling with my eyes closed and hands raised above my head.

After the punishment one of the teachers called me and told me why he made sure I received such punishment. He explained that if I had owned up in the first instance and not lied, I wouldn’t have been flogged. Since then I haven’t had any reason to lie. But if I have to, I would make sure I don’t get exposed.

via Daily Prompt: Exposed

